Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Experience studying abroad Ireland  (Read 5051 times)
Spanish_lady

« on: April 03, 2012, 12:18PM »

Last year, I studied abroad in Galway, Ireland. I lived there for 6 months and studied at the National University of Ireland Galway, and I can honestly say those 6 months are the best I've had in my entire life. I was able to travel around Europe fairly easily (than you Ryanair...) and saw things that I thought I would only ever see through Google images.

I feel in love with Ireland, the people, the culture, everything. I've gotten a few questions from those that knew I studied abroad, and wanted to open a topic for anyone that had questions. I'm by no means an expert, but I've had the experience of a college student abroad and might be able to help anyone who is interested in doing the same I did  Smiley
TheWhite~Rose
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2012, 02:56PM »

Maybe you can help me. Cheesy  I'm seriously considering attending graduate school in either England or Ireland for medieval literature, but the truth is, I'm terrified of being alone in another country by myself, especially if it's going to be for a long time.  My question is, how do you cope with that?  What can make the experience less scary and more manageable?
Spanish_lady

« Reply #2 on: April 04, 2012, 11:19PM »

Do you want to go for your entire graduate career or just for a semester or two? That makes a huge difference in my opinion.

Are you still in undergrad? If you are, sometimes they will offer exchange programs to other countries so you'll possibly be with a few others from you school. If you're not, I went with a study abroad program not affiliated with my college, but I was completely by myself. I was introduced to the others in the group, which was sometimes nice even though I didn't live near them.