Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Irish Surnames with "Ni" in Them?  (Read 24120 times)
Tiffany Gray
Honorary Roadie

I love Celtic Woman and soft sweaters.

« on: August 15, 2011, 08:39PM »

Hey guys.  Hope I'm in the right spot.

I'm writing a story, and one of the main characters is Irish, and I was wondering if you guys could give me a list of last names with "Ni" in them, kinda like Meav's last name.  And tell me what those names mean and how to pronounce them please?  I just want a REALLY beautiful last name for the character.  Thanks guys.  Google is not helping me lol.

MikeyK
Honorary Roadie

Proud Chloëver

« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2011, 11:54AM »

I'm no Irish expert, but I read here on the forum that the "Ní" is not part of one's surname, but is used to show a woman who is unmarried or who has chosen to keep her last name after marriage. To use Méav as an example, the Ní would mean "daughter of Mhaolchatha" or "daughter of the Mhaolchatha clan". So it is my understanding that any woman can have "Ní" in front of her last name, just as long as she is unmarried or has kept her original surname. But as you can see, there are many Irish women without it, so I think is it up to the individual if she decides to include it in her name or not.

I think I got that right, but hopefully someone will be able to elaborate more.
Tiffany Gray
Honorary Roadie

« Reply #2 on: August 16, 2011, 12:16PM »